Hall of Distinction

The Hall of Distinction is a very prestigious honor given to outstanding Alumni or Plain Local Schools contributors.

Nominations for the 2018 induction class will be accepted until April 1, 2018.  Application forms can be downloaded by clicking  HOD application 2018 or by contacting the foundation office.

Our 2017 inductees were:

Lisa Sayoc (GlenOak 1988), Sherrie Valentine (GlenOak 1977), Katharine Ewing (Oakwood 1969), and Keith LePage (Glenwood 1975)

Our 2016 inductees were;

John Ewing (Glenwood 1969), Stephan Wilder (Glenwood 1969), John Hibbard (GlenOak 1980), and Denise Lynn Evans (Class of 1982) and Mary Kay Stamatakis (GlenOak 1984).

header pic

The Plain Local Schools Alumni Association Hall of Distinction honors alumni, and other individuals in our community, who have distinguished themselves personally and / or professionally, have contributed time and talent to the Plain Local School District and who have exemplified the education and moral values that are respected by their community and school system.

To be considered for this honor, nominees must meet the eligibility requirements as defined by the Plain Local Schools Alumni Association. Those selected into the Hall of Distinction will be memorialized with a permanent likeness and inscriptions at GlenOak High School.

John Ewing graduated from Glenwood High School in 1969, and currently serves as the Curator of Film at the Cleveland Museum of Art. Ewing is also the co-founder of the Cleveland Institute of Art Cinemantheque, an alternative film theatre that showcases foreign, alternative, and experimental films. He has won numerous awards throughout his career in film, including being named a Chevalier (Knight) in the Order of the Arts and Letters of the Republic of France for his contributions to French culture. Past recipients of this award include T.S. Elliot, Robert Redford, and Leonardo DiCaprio. During his time at Glenwood, Ewing served as editor of the Eagle’s View, president of National Honor Society, and co-consul of Latin Club.

Stephan Wilder graduated from Glenwood High School in 1969, and has been the North Canton Chief of Police since May of 2011. While at Glenwood, Wilder was a member of the Wrestling, Track, and Cross Country teams. He is a highly accomplished volunteer throughout the community, specifically with Boy Scouts of America, and was recently awarded their prestigious Silver Antelope award. He has won numerous other awards, including the D.A.R.E. Citizenship Award, Friends of Education Award, and Volunteer of the Year Award for the North Canton YMCA. Wilder has completed 36 Marathons nationally and internationally, 7 JFK50 Ultra Marathons, and 5 National Triathlon Championships.

John Hibbard graduated from GlenOak High School in 1980, and is currently a scientist at the National Radio Astronomy Observatory, where he has been since 2006. Following his time at GlenOak, he went on to graduate Magna Cum Laude from Case Western Reserve University, and continued on to Columbia University, where he earned a Master’s Degree and a PhD in Astronomy. Throughout his career, he has won many distinguished awards for his research in Astronomy, including the Ronald J. Trumpler Award, and the JJ Naussau Astronomy Award. His work has been published in various research papers and journals, and he has been invited to speak at many prestigious events all over the world.

Denise Yohe Evans graduated from GlenOak High School in 1982. She is an exceptionally accomplished realtor with Cutler Real Estate, and has sold over $21 Million in Real Estate over her 14 years with the company. She was awarded the Ohio Association of Realtors President Sales Club Award of Achievement from 2004-2014. Evans serves the community as a Board Member for The Rotary Club of Plain Township, The Canton Palace Theatre, and Friends of Plain Township Parks. She has also been an active supporter of extra-curricular in the Plain Local School District, volunteering often for the Cross Country team and Band.

Mary Kay Stamatakis graduated from GlenOak High School in 1984, and is currently the Dean of the West Virginia University School of Pharmacy. Stamatakis spent her time at GlenOak working on the newspaper staff and participating on the Speech team. She has won many prestigious awards throughout her career, including the Jerry Siegel Clinical Achievement Award, The Smith Kline & French Laboratory Award for Superior Achievement in Clinical Pharmacy, and Teacher of the Year at West Virginia University School of Pharmacy. Stamatakis has also published an abundance of material in studies, journals, and book chapters.


Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt